Not so good habit~
I pick my lips. Gross I know. Not to mention that I am a grown woman who does this. Anytime I am stressed, or deep in thought, my hand goes right to my lips to see if there is a willing victim. AND the bigger the piece, the more satisfaction I get from it. Because of my habit I have become dependent on chapstick and it is not uncommon for me to make a run to the store to buy 10 new sticks.
I need a support group.
Lip pickers unite!!!
Good habit~
I run. I started running after I graduated from high school and fell in love with it then. Then I started having babies. I thought I could continue to run for the beginning of my first pregnancy, and then the vomiting began. All running came to a full and complete stop. I did not run again for 7 years. About 2 years ago I joined the local YMCA and headed straight to the treadmill. I am not gonna lie, it was not pretty, but I went back the next day and it got better. The love was still there, I just needed to work on me. Having been a mom for the last 7 years this was something I had forgotten how to do and I was desperate to get it back. So I kept it up and it got easier, and smoother, and less of a task and more of a treat.
Somethings I love about running~
~It allows me to listen to the music that I would NEVER be able to play in my car. The faster the beat, angrier the lyrics, the faster I run.
~At some point in the run my body takes over and I go into auto pilot. This allows me to really think and enjoy my time.
~I burn a boat load of calories.
Last month my friend Kristy invited me to do a 5K run with her. I have been wanting to do a race but had no idea where to begin so this seemed like a perfect chance to get my feet wet.
So I upped my running at the Y, rubbed my armpit raw for the first time ever, and bought a new pair of running shorts for the big day.
Looking good on race day is very important. Trust me.
Cute shorts, right!?
My running buddy Kristy~
I wish I could be this tan in a photo just once!!
The crowd~
It was like one big giant party and I loved it!!!! Then the race started and this mob of people started to move forward. You moved forward whether you wanted to or not. I stuck right behind Kristy, she has done several races and knows her way around a crowd. Without her I am sure I would have been trampled. After it was all said and done I came in #409 out of 905 and 27th out of 71 in my age group.
Oh, and Kristy beat me.
It is on like Donkey Kong! Little competition is good for everyone!
I ran my best mile ever, and it is safe to say I am addicted. There will be many more races in my future. A few things I learned in my first race~
~I should have run some outside instead of only on a treadmill. I had swollen ankles the next day and had to take the week off to recover.
~A race is a wonderful opportunity to people watch! Seriously, even the freaks run.
~It is a giant party after the race, lots of free goodies and who doesn't like free!!
~Nothing feels better than crossing the finish line!
I have another race on the calendar at the end of October so I am off to prepare for it!!
Meg
















